medals of very high and respectable honour

every spring, for the last 12 years, we go on a ski trip to France with a bunch of friends. actually, most of us do the snowboarding thing, but I think that would still be called a ski trip in English. in Dutch we call it ‘wintersport’, which sounds logical and very non-judgemental about whether you practice skiing or snowboarding. I’ve been snowboarding for over 15 years, but this year I skied for the first time. it went well, and to celebrate that I bought an appropriate ski suit from the eighties in fluorescent colours on the Waterloo Square market, which I will show to you in a following post. (I can’t believe I have to wait a whole year to wear it)

our group is usually the size of an average highschool class, and so is the behaviour. every year since the 10th anniversary we have a quiz. this year, friend D and I made it. D works at a (“very respectable! we always hear both sides!”) gossip TV program, so the tendency of the quiz was kind of showbizz-ish. I, on the other hand,  could only come up with extremely difficult questions of which I had to google the answers myself too (and sometimes even the questions), so when our test subject couldn’t answer any of them, we decided it was for the better if I turned to another important task on our list: the medals. I was very happy when the winning team was so excited about them that they wore them on their ski jackets for the rest of the week. they also won awesome gloves and other expensive and superhip snow goodies, but that is completely beside the point.

Leave a Reply

